Who can use this feature?
- Global admins or users with advanced permissions
- Available on all plans
Totango includes the following options for removing accounts from your instance.
- Archive: Remove obsolete or unused accounts (reversible)
- Block: Prevents an account from re-entering your instance from an integration (reversible)
- Delete: Permanently delete archived or blocked accounts (not reversible)
Archived, blocked, and deleted accounts are not counted against your subscription.
Blocking an account was formerly known as "junking." If you had accounts marked under the former junking process, they will be available in the archive.
Archive and block account
You can archive an account from the segment list view or from an account profile. Any archived account is automatically blocked, unless your admin has configured preferences to disable automatic blocking.
- From an account segment, select one or more accounts and click Archive Account. Or, from an account profile, click the Ellipses (...) > Archive.
- From the confirmation, click Archive.
If your admin has disabled automatic blocking, the message will indicate that archived accounts are excluded from all Totango data but are not blocked automatically. Accounts will get restored if synced again from an external source, unless they are manually blocked or permanently deleted.
The account is moved to archive (Data Management > Archive). You should expect the following:
- The account no longer appears in segmentation or search results
- All child entities are also archived, including:
- When an accounts is restored from the archive, all child entities are restored (same entities as above)
- No data processing will occur for archived data, such as daily health calculations
See FAQs for more information about changes to archive behavior after May 14, 2023.
Modify or delete archived accounts
The archive within Data Management allows you to to restore, unblock, or delete accounts. An account remains in the archive indefinitely, unless you choose to delete it or if a data retention policy is configured for your instance.
- From Settings, expand Data Management > Archive. All accounts that have been archived and/or blocked appear.
- Search for an account you want to modify.
- Hover over the account, and choose the option you want:
- Restore: Remove the account from the archive. The account will be searchable in Totango again and processed like other accounts. History is restored, including the original create date.
- Unblock: Keep the account in the archive, but allow the account to re-enter your Totango instance if it's synced from a data integration. If synced again via an integration, history is restored, including the original create date.
Delete: The account and associated data will be deleted entirely from Totango, including history and original create date. This action cannot be reversed; use with caution.
- *If the account was blocked prior to deletion, an entry with the account name will remain in the archive to indicate that it's still blocked. If you unblock a deleted account, the account entry will permanently disappear from the archive.
Question: Accounts that have been permanently deleted will not disappear from the archive list. Why?
Answer: An account that is archived and unblocked will stay in the archive list. A permanently deleted account that gets unblocked is removed from archive list. In order to remove a permanently deleted account from the archive list it needs to be unblocked.
Question: We have scenarios where we may remove accounts in Totango but they can get brought back in via an integration. Is there a best practice that would make sure those archived accounts start fresh without pre-existing designations?
Answer: Accounts that are currently archived (but not deleted) will get restored if they get added again from an integration job. The restoration process includes all the previous data and metrics, including history and original create date.
You will need to permanently delete such accounts from the archive list if you don't want the account to retain any previous data. After an account is permanently deleted, if you bring the account back in through an integration, it will be treated as a new account (no history and new create date).
Question: What happens when I archive an account with multiple child and grandchild accounts?
Answer: The account is archived. All of the users, tasks, touchpoints, and collections directly linked to the archived account are also archived. All of the child accounts, along with their linked entities, are also archived. All of the grandchild accounts, along with their linked entities, are also archived.
Question: What if I only want to archive the parent account and none of the children/ grandchildren?
Answer: You should update the parent IDs on the child and grandchild accounts before archiving the parent account.
Question: As of May 14, 2023, what happens to accounts that are currently in the archive, whose related entities and child accounts are not in the archive?
Answer: No changes are made to accounts currently in the archive. Please contact Support if you'd like to migrate those accounts to the new archive behavior.