Totango DNA-CX platform expands its data retention capability to support out-of-the-box entity retention policy. This will allow Totango operation engineers to define the data retention policy which best suite their company and technology.
This feature allows global admins to set up a policy to delete data from Totango, be cautious of data loss when configuring any retention policy.
- Make Totango operation engineers more efficient and save their time by managing data entities deletion in a self-service manner.
- Save customer engineering development and implementation time by supporting full data sets uploads (snapshots) on a daily basis.
- As a global admin, I am able to define retention policy for every data entity in Totango.
The deletion settings are based on entity inactivity which means that Totango did not get any new information about this entity.
For example, if the admin defined that “Accounts” should be deleted after 1 day of inactivity, it means that Totango will mark all accounts with no new information in the last 1 day, and will delete it.
What is ”inactivity” or ”no information” means:
- No attribute was uploaded/sent
- No usage activity was logged
- No touchpoint was logged via API
- No tasks were created/completed via API
The retention policy definition is activated immediately after setting it up and saving it. It means that Totango will start marking the last information update for all entities (starting at this point), and the inactive ones will be deleted in the next Totango daily process after reaching the inactive days number set in the policy.
For example, today I defined a retention policy to delete accounts after 3 days of inactivity. All accounts last activity will be set to today and will be updated on a daily basis. once an account is reached 3 days of inactivity it will be deleted.
You can select one of the out-of-the-box deletion timeframes or select your own timeframe by just typing the number of inactivity days.
- As an admin, I am able to define the retention policy of my company free accounts.
In case your company has a freemium program, in order to clean your customer base, use the free accounts retention policy to expire and delete irrelevant free accounts.
Note, free accounts are part of the account entity, therefore the account entity deletion policy overrules free account expiration deletion policy. Therefore whenever the account entity deletion happens sooner than the free accounts policy, the free accounts will be deleted based on the accounts entity retention policy.
For example, I defined the account entity retention policy to be “delete after 3 days of inactivity” and the free account retention policy to be “delete after 30 days of inactivity”. Since free accounts are part of the account entity, free accounts will be deleted after 3 days.
Where To Find It?
The data retention policies are defined in the data retention page under global settings.
How To Configure It?
- Open data retention page.
- Review all the entities in the page, and define the retention policy for every one of them.
You can pick the number of inactive days from the dropdown, or type the number of days.
- Make sure to define your desired setting for each entity.
- Save your configuration.
You can reset all the retention policies to system defaults by clicking “Reset to default settings”
- Whenever an account is deleted, its users and collections will be deleted as well.
- Whenever a new collection is defined, it will inherit its retention policy from the account level.
- If the entity was deleted by mistake, in the first 30 days (the “revive period”), you can revive it by sending new information about it. This action will unmark it as deleted and will revive it.
After the “revive period” you cannot revive the entity, and any new information about this entity will re-create it as a new entity.
- When an admin moves an account to the “junk” list, this account is deleted immediately and it is filtered forever. It means that any new information about this account will not recreate it.
For more information, reach out to your CSM.