Who can use this feature?
- Global admins or users with advanced permissions
- Not available on Community or free trial editions
Sensitive data refers to personally identifiable information (PII) that you want to remove from visibility on a user profile in Totango, except for global admins. Any user-level attribute can be marked as sensitive.*
Teams can still segment on user attributes that have been marked as sensitive. For example, teams can target a campaign to users, but the actual email addresses will not be visible.
*The system user attribute "Name" cannot be marked as sensitive. We recommend using a GUID when importing data for this attribute if the end-user names are considered sensitive.
Mark a user attribute as sensitive
- Within Settings, expand Data Management > Data Modeler.
- From the User Attributes tab, click on the attribute you want to modify.
- From within the attribute properties, choose Yes next to Sensitive Data.
- Click Save.
The attribute will be denoted with a shield icon in Data Modeler.
Only global admins can view this data on a user profile within Totango:
Other team members can edit the value but cannot see the value displayed:
Question: What is the difference between privileged and sensitive data?
Answer: Sensitive data within Totango refers to user-level information (e.g., PII). Sensitive data is only visible by global admins. Privileged and hidden data within Totango refers to account-level information. This data is visible based on team account scope or role permissions.