Manage active SuccessPlays

Who can use this feature?

  • Global admins, SuccessBLOC owners, and collaborators
  • Users have view access to SuccessBLOCs that are published to a team; additional view access permissions to individual SuccessPlays, campaigns, canvas, and objective templates vary.
  • Available on all plans and license types

Changes in your business, account sets, or team members may require maintenance on existing SuccessPlays. It is always a good practice to review any ongoing and enabled SuccessPlays any time there are changes that might effect which accounts a team is assigned, when account assignment roles are changed or removed, or when Totango administrators change.

Deactivate a SuccessPlay

You can edit a play without deactivating it, and in that case no changes will be applied until the very last step in editing where you will be asked to confirm that you want to activate the new changes by saving as activated.

However, you may want to deactivate it if you want to:

  • Make significant changes
  • Work on edits over time
  • Stop using the play
  1. Open the SuccessBLOC you want to edit, and click the SuccessPlays tab.
  2. Click the Ellipses (...) next to the play, and click Deactivate.

Once deactivated, the SuccessPlay will no longer fire tasks or be available to run manually. If re-enabled, it will evaluate the criteria and configuration anew (and you can again decide if you want existing accounts in the criteria to get a task or only new ones that enter/exit).

When a SuccessPlay is deactivated, all open tasks remain open. The only way to delete open tasks is in deleting the SuccessPlay.

Edit a SuccessPlay

If you are editing a SuccessPlay that is currently activated, take special consideration as to how this will impact open, closed, and future tasks.

If making multiple changes to a SuccessPlay, or if you plan to work on it over time and would like to leave the existing one active, we suggest that you copy the SuccessPlay and make changes to the copy in a disabled state.

There is no draft mode when editing SuccessPlays. You may save your changes as disabled on the last screen, but this will also disable the SuccessPlay as a whole. If you save your changes as enabled and find errors were made, it could be hard to retrace and undo. By copying the SuccessPlay you can leave the original undisturbed to behave as normal and disable that once you are satisfied with the changes, and have enabled the new one.

Because the only way to delete (remove) any open or existing tasks from a SuccessPlay is by deleting the SuccessPlay, a copy allows you to delete the original along with any existing open tasks if you want to.

  1. Open the SuccessBLOC you want to edit, and click the SuccessPlays tab.
  2. Click the SuccessPlay to view details.
  3. Click Edit SuccessPlay.
  4. Make your changes. No changes will be saved until the last step where you are asked to confirm you want to activate it. There is no draft mode in this case.

Edit a segment or criteria in a SuccessPlay

Editing a segment or criteria will update which accounts are affected by the SuccessPlay. This will not affect the segment if it is used in other parts of Totango; segment criteria are essentially copied for each SuccessPlay. Editing the Segment may scoop new accounts into the SuccessPlay. If you save the SuccessPlay as deactivated, no new tasks will be created for the segment changes. If you save the changes as activated, all new tasks will be created immediately.  

Delete a SuccessPlay and/or existing tasks

Deleting a SuccessPlay can delete all tasks past, open, and future.

  1. Open the SuccessBLOC you want to edit, and click the SuccessPlays tab.
  2. Click the Ellipses (...) next to the play, and choose the delete option.
    • Delete: Delete the SuccessPlay and choose how to handle existing tasks.
      • Do not delete any tasks: Leave all previous and assigned (but not completed) tasks open and visible. However new tasks will not be created.
      • Delete only the tasks that have not bee completed: Leave the task history on the account, but will delete all open tasks.
      • Delete all tasks: Delete all historical and open tasks. This option should only be selected if the SuccessPlay has been created by mistake, such as if the segment criteria contains accounts that should not have been included.
        mceclip1.png
    • Delete existing tasks: Keep the SuccessPlay but apply the following delete process to the selected task(s) you choose: 
      • Delete all tasks: Delete all historical and open tasks. This option should only be selected if the SuccessPlay has been created by mistake, such as if the segment criteria contains accounts that should not have been included.
      • Delete completed tasks: Delete all tasks marked as complete, leaving only those listed as open and/or overdue.
      • Delete all open tasks: Leave the task history on the account, but delete all open tasks (including overdue tasks).
      • Delete all overdue tasks: Leave the task history on the account, but delete all overdue tasks.
        mceclip0.png
  3. Click Delete.

Monitor results

Use the SuccessPlay effectiveness score to fine-tune your SuccessPlays according to real results. This score Totango users can understand the impact of every SuccessPlay and take action to accordingly.

  1. Open the SuccessBLOC you want to review, and click the SuccessPlays tab.
  2. View the breakdown of tasks completed vs. overdue.
  3. Hover over the Play Effectiveness score to view the score. 
    mceclip0.png

    If no score is available, the play did not reach the maturity level for the algorithm to conclude its effectiveness.

How the score works

Totango AI team uses Machine Learning algorithm to calculate the SuccessPlays effectiveness score.
This algorithm is based on two dimensions: Effectiveness and Impact.

  • Effectiveness indicator calculates the influence of the tasks created by this SuccessPlay on the team productivity. Productivity is measured based on the work volume and work pace of the team.
  • Impact indicator calculates the influence of the tasks created by this SuccessPlay on health improvements and revenue increase.

As this feature is based on a Machine Learning algorithm, the algorithm input parameters and the parameters influence are changing all the time; data calculates on a weekly basis.

In order for the algorithm to start to produce results, the SuccessPlay should run for at least 60 days to start to provide results. You can expect accuracy improves in the SuccessPlays effectiveness score week by week.

FAQ

Question: If I selected an existing segment as my trigger criteria and then that segment gets changed later, will it impact the SuccessPlay?

Answer: No. The SuccessPlay effectively copies the criteria used to build that segment and that criteria then stays stagnant in the SuccessPlay. If you want the SuccessPlay to change as the criteria of a segment changes, use the 'is in' or 'is not in' segment criteria instead.


Question: What happens to the open tasks when a SuccessPlay is disabled?

Answer: Tasks that were already fired and still open will not be impacted but the SuccessPlay will not generate any new tasks when disabled.


Question: Will tasks get fired by a SuccessPlay that is in a SuccessBLOC when that SuccessBLOC is not published?

Answer: Yes, if the SuccessPlay is active, tasks will get fired even if the SuccessBLOC is not published.


Question: Will a task get fired multiple times to the same account with an ongoing SuccessPlay?

Answer: If the previous task is closed, then yes, it will fire another task to the same account. If the previous task is still open when the account meets the SuccessPlay criteria again, then the SuccessPlay will not fire another task.

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request