Archiving allows you to remove obsolete/redundant accounts from your Totango service. In addition, we added an opt-out capability to Archiving, named 'Blocking' (formerly known as 'Junking'). Blocking allows you to suppress accounts from showing up in your Totango service if one of your integrations is syncing them again.
Topics covered in this article:
- How to archive and block/unblock accounts
- Archived accounts and data retention, license utilization
- How to restore or permanently delete archived accounts
How to Archive and block/unblock accounts
Archiving accounts is available from a Segment and also from Account Profile:
To archive accounts from a Segment, select the accounts you want to archive, and click on Archive Accounts in the action bar:
A dialog will show to let you confirm your selection and to choose whether also to block them from reappearing again in Totango:
If you keep the Block checkbox checked and continue to archive, the account will move to the Archive and also be marked to not sync to Totango again. This action is reversible from within the Archive.
If you opt-out not to mark the accounts as blocked, then the next time they are synced to Totango, they will be removed from the Archive and reappear in your Totango service.
- To archive from Account Profile, click on the kebab menu in the top right corner:
- Click on Archive:
- The same alert as in Segment will appear - choose to block/unblock and approve your selection.
Archived accounts and data retention, license utilization
What happens to accounts that were archived?
- Archived accounts appear under Settings -> Data Management -> Archive:
- The data for archived accounts are not deleted and can be restored at any time (unless there is a Data Retention policy in place - continue to read below).
- Archived accounts do not appear in Segments or search results.
- No data processing will occur for archived data, e.g., daily health calculation.
- Archived accounts are not counted against your Totango Spark seats.
- Suppose your Totango service has a Data Retention policy in place. In that case, your archived accounts will be automatically deleted with their data after the time set in the Data Retention policy.
- 'Junk' is no longer available in Totango. If you previously had accounts in Junk, they will appear under Archive.
How to restore or permanently delete archived accounts
- To view your archived accounts, go to Settings -> Data Management -> Archive:
- Select the accounts you want to take action on:
- Select if you wish to restore the accounts, block/unblock, or permanently delete them
- Important: After permanently deleting accounts, the accounts and their associated data will be deleted entirely from Totango. This action cannot be reversed - please make sure you mark the correct accounts to be permanently deleted.
- We recommend keeping the accounts in the Archive and avoiding permanently deleting accounts.
- Accounts that were permanently deleted and marked as Blocked before being deleted: The accounts and their data will be deleted, but an entry with the account name will remain in Totango to mark that they are still blocked. If you unblock them, the account entry will disappear from the archive.
- Archiving users/contacts is not yet supported
- Archiving accounts will not yet allow archiving associated users