The User delete API provides a programmatic interface to permanently remove a user profile from Totango. Use this API to automate data cleanup, or to comply with information removal requests from GDPR or equivalent privacy-frameworks.
Users refer to end users of your application, not Totango platform users.
Before you begin
- You need your Totango API token key.
- Like all APIs, there is a global rate limit of 100 calls/minute for each token.
- This delete action is IRREVERSIBLE! A deleted user information cannot be retrieved.
- This API should not be used to mass delete a large set of users. To do that, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with your request.
Delete a user
To delete a user, simply issue a DELETE request to the resource:
where USER-ID is the user-ID on Totango and ACCOUNT-ID is the account the user is associated with.
curl -X DELETE --header 'app-token:YOUR-TOKEN-HERE' 'https://app.totango.com/api/v2/users/account-user/<ACCOUNT-ID>/<USER-ID>'
The API will return a 200 Success code or 401 Unauthorized in case of invalid credentials.
Note that it may take a few minutes for the delete to fully apply.
Question: If the user is deleted from the account, does that user's activity stay associated to the account or is it lost?
Answer: Deleting a user means that it is no longer associated to any account and the account(s) will not contain a history of the user's previous activity. However, their activity will still be a part of historical usage aggregations and the number of activities from that user on the account(s) will remain.